Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

(540) 745-2001 • info@countysales.com

RED SQUIRREL CHASERS 'Shakin' Down the Acorns'

Add To Wishlist

While this is technically a new group, the members will be familiar to many --if not most --of our old-time music fans and musicians. Appearing on the St. Louis based VIGORTONE label, the four piece band includes Jim Nelson (guitar & lead vocals), Stephanie Coleman (fiddle), Jim Collier (mandolin and vocals) and Dedo Norris (bass). This is, essentially an old time record, with a generous 16 tracks that include such tunes as SHADY GROVE, SUGAR IN THE GOURD, OLD BOB, DURANG'S HORNPIPE, RUN MOUNTAIN and JAYBIRD DIED WITH THE WHOOPING COUGH---Ms. Coleman's fiddling is strong and solid on these. The band then adds a semi-Bluegrass touch by including SHORT LIFE OF TROUBLE, NO LETTER IN THE MAIL, MOONSHINER, and NEW RIVER TRAIN among others. As the band points out, it's Bluegrass without the banjo (!). Nice job.