Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

(540) 745-2001 • info@countysales.com

CLARENCE WHITE '33 Acoustic Guitar Tunes' SIERRA-6023-CD


Considered by almost everyone to be one of the most innovative, creative and technically proficient flat-pick guitarists in Bluegrass music, White died tragically at an early age when hit by a car in a parking lot after a show in California. His influence in Bluegrass music has been profound, and his clo~cá-nickillg and sense of timing, phrasing, and syncopation are cited repeatedly by guitarists everywhere. Though this album is taken from tapes White made at home, it is special in that there are clean samplings of 33 different tunes --they are short (mostly in the minute to minute & a half range) but each gives the listener all he needs to know about the tune and what White is doing. The sound quality is good and rich for a home recording of that time. The material is all classic stuff, ranging from the fiddle tunes White played so well, to interpretations of songs like FOOTPRINTS IN THE SNOW, I'M SO HAPPY, HE WILL SET YOUR FIELDS ON FIRE and the wonderful bluesy treatment of IN THE PINES. A gem of a release for fans of the guitar and this great musician.


  1. Wildwood Flower
  2. Master's Bouquet
  3. Bury Me Beneath the Willow
  4. Black Mountain Rag
  5. Billy in the Low Ground
  6. I'm So Happy
  7. He Will Set Your Fields On Fire
  8. Sugarfoot Rag
  9. Nine Pound Hammer
  10. Cripple Creek
  11. Under the Double Eagle
  12. Farewell Blues
  13. I Am A Pilgrim
  14. Country Boy Rock and Roll
  15. Forsaken Love
  16. False Hearted Lover
  17. Black Jack Davy
  18. Banks of the Ohio
  19. Jimmy Brown the Newsboy
  20. Sally Goodin
  21. Buckin' Mule
  22. Shady Grove
  23. Pike County Breakdown
  24. Old Joe Clark
  25. Arkansas Traveler
  26. Footprints in the Snow
  27. In the Pines
  28. Journey's End
  29. Pretty Polly
  30. Cotton Eyed Joe
  31. Clinch Mountain Backstep
  32. Randy Lynn Rag
  33. Mandolin Medley