Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

(540) 745-2001 • info@countysales.com

CHARLIE MONROE 'Starday Sessions 24 Songs' GUSTO-2248-CD

Add To Wishlist

Well, to start with these were not "Starday Sessions" --the 24 songs that appear here originally appeared on two LPs for the late Bob Mooney's REM label in 1963 and 1965. That was a time when Charlie was making a return comeback of sorts after a long and fruitful career with RCA Victor. These recordings were enhanced by the banjo playing of J.D. Crowe, though the overall sound left something to be desired, despite Crowe's presence on the 2 LPs, one of which was secular and the other gospel ("Lord Build Me A Cabin"). Somehow the records ended up re-issued on both the Starday and Pine Mountain labels, but they have not been available for many years so it's nice to see them on CD at last. Charlie was in relatively good voice here, though the music and the singing was not quite up to the high standards he set with his RCA recordings. (By the way, Charlie did make a later recording for Starday, in 1975, called "Tally-Ho").

Track List:
1 Sweetheart I Love You Best
2 Who's Calling You Sweetheart Tonight
3 Down In The Willow Garden
4 Walking With You In My Dreams
5 Find 'Em, Fool 'Em, And Leave 'Em Alone
6 Penitentiary Blues
7 I've Changed My Mind
8 Won't We Have A Good Time
9 Nobody Cares For Me
10 (It's) Hard To Believe
11 Would You
12 Banjo Player's Blues
13 I'm Going Away
14 We'll Love Again Sweetheart
15 I'm Going That Way
16 Wait For The Light To Shine
17 I Feel Like A Stranger
18 Sing, Sing, Sing
19 I Live In Glory
20 Lord Build Me A Cabin
21 Child Of The King
22 How Beautiful Heaven Must Be
23 Shake My Mother's Hand For Me
24 Working On A Building