Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

(540) 745-2001 • info@countysales.com

DIRK POWELL 'When I Wait For You' COMP-4766-CD


Dirk Powell has achieved near legendary status in the international roots music scene. His bonds with Louisiana and with the mountains of Kentucky are unmistakable – but so is his far-reaching vision and ability to translate the essence of tradition for modern audiences that need the timeless and sustaining messages that tradition brings. Powell’s new album, WHEN I WAIT FOR YOU, blends his deep understanding of American roots music with a unique ability to weave traditional sounds into a contemporary musical tapestry. The result is one of the year’s freshest and most engaging contemporary folk albums. The album’s 13 tracks of mostly original material showcase Powell’s gritty vocals and penchant for catchy melody set against a soundscape of fiddles, accordion, whistles, harmonica, and rhythm section, with Powell’s vocal performances reminiscent of Levon Helm in one moment and his mentor, Cajun legend Dewey Balfa, in the next. Donald Shaw (Capercaillie) produced the album which was recorded in Louisiana and Scotland and features special guests Rhiannon Giddens, Sara Watkins, Sean Watkins, Mike McGoldrick, and John McCusker.

“Dirk Powell is a badass. To the bone. He is a singer, songwriter, producer, recording engineer, and an all in all artist of unique vision and unbending integrity. As far as I can tell there is no genre of American roots music that Dirk doesn’t understand.” —Steve Earle

1. Everything is Alright
2. Olivia
3. The Silk Merchant's Daughter
4. The Bright Light of Day
5. Say Old Playmate
6. Let the Night Seize Me
7. The Little Things
8. Les Yeux de Rosalie
9. Jack of Hearts
10. Ain't Never Fell
11. I Ain't Playing Pretty Polly
12. You Will Live Love
13. One Note