• $13.99

Add to Wishlist

Following the success of "O Brother, Where Art Thou," T. Bone Burnett arranged for what turned out to be Ralph's last recording for a major, mainstream label, one he and Carter had been on from 1948 to 1952. This recording features a team of all-stars: Bob Neuwirth co-producing and Norman Blake, Stuart Duncan, Mike Compton, and others picking. It reached #22 on the Billboard County Chart, but only #3 Bluegrass. Ralph Stanley contains none of his banjo playing and features almost entirely traditional material.

Track Listing:

  • Lift Him Up, That's All
  • False Hearted Lover's Blues
  • Henry Lee
  • Girl from the Greenbriar Shore
  • Twelve Gates to the City
  • Little Mathie Grove
  • Look On and Cry
  • I'll Remember You Love In My Prayers
  • Calling You
  • The Death of John Henry
  • Great High Mountain